Complete Decongestive Therapy (CDT) is the gold standard for lymphedema management. All four components of CDT are essential for the best therapeutic outcomes. Lifelong management of lymphedema with CDT can give your patients independence, empowerment, and an improved quality of life.

Complete Decongestive Therapy Chart

Complete Decongestive Therapy (CDT)

Complete Decongestive Therapy (CDT) is an intensive therapy program that is divided into two phases: Phase I, the Decongestion phase, and Phase II, the Maintenance phase.

Phase I – Decongestion

The goal of Phase I is to decrease the swelling in the limb to normal size, or as close to normal as possible, while maintaining healthy skin. There are four basic components to Phase I:

Phase II – Maintenance
Phase II is to preserve the results of all the hard work in Phase I. Just like the Decongestive Phase, there are four components of Phase II:

Manual Lymphatic Drainage

Learn how Manual Lymph Drainage (MLD) is in integral part in the treatment of lymphedema.

Read More


Learn more about exercise and lymphedema.

Read More

Compression Therapy

Learn the different types of compression therapy used in the management of lymphedema

Read More

Skin Care

Learn why skin care is important in the care of your patient's lymphedema.

Read More